Sharing your campaign
Unlimited tier subscribers can share their campaigns so other people can view objects inside them.
You can enable sharing per campaign from the campaign preferences.
Other people can access your campaign with the link provided here. They don’t need a subscription but will need to log in to view shared campaigns.
Choosing which objects are shared
When sharing your campaign, you choose which objects can be seen by other people. The white triangle in the corner of objects in the lists indicates this object is shared. Sharing an object does not share any child objects underneath it, they need to be explicitly shared themselves.
To share an object, you can click the sharing button in the object details (this button is only visible when sharing is enabled).
Or you can share and unshare any object from the context menu at any time.
What gets shared?
You can choose to share or hide any objects. All information included will be included with shared objects, subject to these rules:
- The object can be shared with a different name, see below for more information
- Sections of notes can be specifically hidden, see below for more information
- If a shared object has a hidden parent, it will be shared at the top level. Hidden child objects will not be shared
- Chapters will be included if one or more assigned objects are shared
When you share your campaign notes, you may want to still keep parts hidden. There are two options for doing this.
Create a new child object
You can create a new object and make it a child of the one you want to keep some secrets for, then just shared the main object. This may be most useful where there are multiple ‘versions’ of something, for instance an NPC who appears friendly but turns out to be an enemy. You can use this technique to share the friendly version while keeping full notes on the ‘real’ one.
Hide parts of the notes
Many times, creating a whole new object to keep a small piece of information hidden isn’t ideal. In these situations, you can use the custom markdown syntax of putting
!! on their own lines before and after the text you want to hide.
Note: You may need to add blank lines above and below the
!! lines to ensure they aren’t parsed as paragraph text.
Sharing an object with a different name
You can give shared objects alternative names that are used as the object name when viewing the campaign shared mode. When using this, anyone viewing your campaign won’t see actual name.
Right-click the shared object and select “Share as…” to set the name that other will see it as. Click the delete icon alongside to remove the custom shared name. The shared name will show when you hover the object, at other times the proper name is shown.
This is very useful for when NPCs or items are know the the party as someone/something else. Introduced the party to an NPC as a “Mysterious Elf”, but don’t want to reveal their true identity yet? Set the share name accordingly so the object shows the real name to you but something else to others. Party come across an object but haven’t got it identified yet? Give it a generic shared name until they find out what it is!
When the object has a shared name, all markdown references and connections will display with this shared name as if this is the real name, they won’t know it is hiding anything! When you are ready to reveal the true identity, just remove the shared name and the shared view references will all be updated next time the shared view is refreshed.
You can choose to share or hide statblocks. Got a BBEG that you included a statblock for? The party don’t need to see it and now you can keep it from them!
Click the eye icon in the statblock header to share or hide the statblock for any creature.
Connections can individually be shared or hidden. If you want to keep connections between shared objects secret, then you can now hide them and only share them if/when discovered! The connection will not show in the list and connected objects won’t be highlighted in he object lists.
Click the eye icon in the connection line to share or hide this connection.
When changes are made to the campaign, viewers will need to refresh to see those changes. To re-load, either click the campaign name from the user menu or just refresh the whole browser (a browser refresh takes a little longer as it has to log you in again).
Simply re-load the campaign from the user menu to refresh the contents.
Re-opening shared campaigns
After loading a shared campaign via a sharing link, it will remain in your campaign list so you can easily get back to it at any time without using the direct link.
If the last viewed campaign was a shared one, it will open when you log in so you can instantly return to a shared campaign by simply logging in (or refreshing the browser window).
Remove a saved shared campaign from your list by clicking the delete icon. You can re-open a removed campaign by using the direct link again at any time.
Validating your shared campaign
You can open your own shared campaign link to check how it will be seen by others to ensure you haven’t given away anything you didn’t mean to!